A Chameleon Among Lemmings


Bat in the Belfry
July 30, 2009, 9:13 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Last night my dad (author of 1 monkey, 1 keyboard blog) was on call at U of M medical school, so I slept with my mom in her bed. At about 3:05 am, I awoke to screaming and assumed that my dad had gotten home early and had started goofing around with my mom(which she hates).  “Ella, Ella,” she gasped. “There’s a bat in the room!” That’s when I hear flapping followed by footsteps rushing down the stairs. My mom said “Quick, quick, get out of the room!” I scrambled out of bed and we both rushed out of the room. I went and sat on the couch and saw my grandpa standing in his underwear. I later found he thought there was an intruder. My mom said “I don’t know what he was planning to do if that was the case.” My grandpa then proceeded to get a broom and go into my mom’s bedroom. Later he came out holding you-know-what. He put it outside. “When I came down I thought there was an intruder!” he said. “There was!” my mom exclaimed. I thought back to how funny the whole thing was. My mom screaming, my grandpa in his underwear, and I thought that all in all the whole thing was pretty darn ridiculous.


4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

We got a good chuckle out of the bat story this morning. Your mom and I swapped stories of running scared from bats in our bedrooms. You’re way cooler than me with a bat near!
kristin

Comment by kristin

But at least we know that there are bats in the neighborhood, and that’s a good thing, right?

Comment by Dad

wonderful story! love it!!

Comment by Aunt Kari

[…] I’m afraid of bats. 2. I’m also afraid of toads. 3. Eleanor and Maggie will run in front of the lawnmower in […]

Pingback by 100th Post « Sparks And Butterflies




Leave a comment